Covered In Clover

The Album Diaries

Track 9, Day 9 of 10


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10



The Story Behind The Song You Can't Have Me

Welcome to Day 9 of the secret album diaries for Covered in Clover!

Today's featured track is the last one on the album. I wrote it for a couple girlfriends who were going through really nasty divorces/breakups. I wanted to give them a sassy "don't come back" song!

So with the help of some doo-wops, Eric Howk's killer bass & electric guitar skills...

Tah Dah! That's what we got! It's a fun little song all in the name of saying "It's over."

You Can't Have Me, but you *can* have a merch bundle!

(See what I did there?) ;-)

Get the Covered in Clover t-shirt, mug, signed CD, *and* a signed copy of Bare Naked Bravery!  The album diaries is the ONLY place where you can get the following merch items at the moment.

Tomorrow is the last chance to grab yourself a bundle!

Covered in Clover - Album Bundle Mockup.png

Click Here to Create Your Album Bundle!



Listen to You Can't Have Me

(Shhh!!! This is for your eyes & ears only!)

The Lyrics for You Can't Have Me 


Oh, I’m glad you came over

Sure, it’s a beautiful bouquet

Oh yes, action’s louder

and Oh, you looked away


You can’t have me, though I want you to

You say you love me & even if it’s true

You can’t have me, though I want you to

It’s over, It’s over


Oh, distance won’t match our efforts

Oh, & how my words cannot convey

No, it’s a blessing of another kind

Go, let me know when you’re okay


I’m not giving up on you

but I need to stand down

‘Cause I know it’s time


You can’t have me, though I want you to

You say you love me & even if it’s true

You can’t have me, though I want you to

It’s over, It’s over

The Credits

Produced by Emily Ann Peterson / Co-production & engineering by Gary Mula / Mixing by Mackenzie Spear / Mastering by Raelynn Janicke / Vocals, piano, cello & tenor guitar by Emily Ann Peterson / Bass & guitar by Eric Howk / Drums on tracks 1, 2, 4, and 7 by Aaron Benson / Drums on tracks 6, 8 and 9 by Lacey Brown / Violin by Alina To / Bassoon by Coltan Foster / Flugelhorn by Carey Rayburn / Trumpets by Scott Morning & Carey Rayburn / Saxophone by Andrew Vait / Instrumental arrangement on track 5 by Jess Aldredge/ Photography by Laura Schneider  / Cover design by Emily Ann Peterson

This album exists with help from my fans and patrons: 

Margaret Ann Martin, Eugene H. Peterson, Jan Krist, Shelby Earl, Jennifer Monahan, Janet Haney, Nicholas Herring, Hillel Cooperman, Jeff Brumley, James Lenhardt, Chris Burlingame, Karen Schwartzbauer, Hanni Hunderfund, Karina Sprinkle, Mandy Troxel, Steve Eulberg, Freya Kennedy, Heidi Stoermer, Nathan Hollifield, Anna Ungar, Anna Armstrong, Mark Peterson, Cindy Peterson, Melanie Harding, Kye Alfred Hillig, Erin Mae Lewis, Jess Shook, Pepe Doval Conzalez, Jamshid Faryar, Nyhuis Creative, Diane Morissette, Kristi Leksen, Laura Constantino, Karla Johnson, Daniel McBain, Maria Bunn, Kaitlin Winter-Eulberg, Kari Van Gelder, Scott Haydon, Kelly Goss, Cherie Perucci, Charlotte Seawell, Matt Hanna, Michael Clark, Becca Iverson, Chris Nippard, Emily Rose, Renee Escobar, Peter Berkeley, Christina Strand, Chris Mathews Jr., Theresa Kennedy, Cheryl Branz, Billy Brush, Elizabeth Burda, Heather Grady

...and anyone else who's attended a concert, purchased my book, listened to my songs, or joined my Inner Circle. 

Thank you for your enduring support of musical bravery! 



all rights reserved · copyright 2019 EAP Media Int'l · PO Box 160404 · Nashville, TN 37216-0404 · United States